“Vila Velha” ou “Santa Cruz da Vilariça”

Torre de Moncorvo
Description

Medieval fortified town, founded in the sixth century, with the name of Santa Cruz da Vilariça. Received charter letter assigned by King Sancho II of Portugal in 1225. The popular designation of Vila Velha or Derruída, due to the tradition of having changed the population of the village of Santa Cruz Vilariça to Torre de Moncorvo, that occurred in the reign of King Dinis. The most significant remains are the walls, moat and remnants of intramural buildings, recognizing traces of the church, associated with three graves dug into the rock and a segment of wall, possibly the rest of the steeple. Between 1989 and 1992 the PARM promoted with the support of the City and State, excavation campaigns along the wall, on the south side, having detected a significant ceramic, metallic and “osteological” estate, as well as foundations of the original buildings.

Location: Torre de Moncorvo
Olhares do Douro

Olhares do Douro

The agritourism "Olhares do Douro" is located on the right bank of the Douro River, in the only...
More info
M.J.P. – Quinta de Vila Maior

M.J.P. – Quinta de Vila Maior

WINEIn 1898, Manuel Joaquim Pinto, based in Vila Nova de Gaia with wine warehouses of Porto,...
More info
Sociedade Agrícola Vale da Vilariça, Lda. – Q. da Silveira

Sociedade Agrícola Vale da Vilariça, Lda. – Q. da Silveira

The Agricultural Society of Vilariça Valley, in the Douro region, is a family company that...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation