Ermida Chapel (ancient S. Mamede parish church)

Matosinhos
Description
The place of “Ermida” is referenced in 1566, along the “Old Road”, a Roman route that connected Porto to Braga.
This route, which for centuries was the main road in the region, was also one of the pilgrimage routes to Santiago de Compostela. The chapel was integrated in the 12th century in the territory of Couto de Leca, and belonged until 1835 to the Leça do Balio Monastery.
In 1643, the chapel, with its characteristic porch, was described as the main church of the parish of S. Mamede da Ermida, a status retained until 1735, when a new parish church was built.
The current structure is the result of several reconstructions in the 18th and 19th century. In the early 20th century the bell tower was added to the one of the sides.


Location: Matosinhos
Hotel Motel Havay

Hotel Motel Havay

Motel Havay is an innovative hotel unit, near Oporto.With about 17 years of experience...
More info
Madalena Municipal Campsite – Orbitur

Madalena Municipal Campsite – Orbitur

Situated in a pine forest, at 500 m from the Madalena beach and at 10km from the Gaia center,...
More info
Padaria Irmãos Moreira

Padaria Irmãos Moreira

A hundred-years-old bakery that is in the same family for many years. It is located in an...
More info
Comments There are no comments from our visitors. Be the first to comment.
Evaluate: Make your evaluation